By Matt Thomas, Wayzata.com Sports Reporter

The Wayzata boys tennis team will be looking for a return trip to the state tournament in 2009. Last year, the Trojans were bounced from the winners bracket in the first round by Mounds View, but they regrouped to win the consolation championship by beating Mahtomedi and Rochester Mayo.

The Trojans will play a challenging schedule this spring including playing in the prestigious Edina Invitational on May 2. The team also has tough non-conference matches against Mounds View and Rochester Mayo.

To get back to the state tournament, the Trojans will have to navigate their way through section 2AA which includes Chaska, Eden Prairie, Hutchinson, Mankato East/Loyola, Mankato West, Minnetonka, New Prague, New Ulm, Orono, Prior Lake, Shakopee, and Willmar.

Wayzata Boys Tennis 2009 Schedule:

Tuesday, March 31 / vs. Bloomington Jefferson / 4 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7 / vs. Orono / 4 p.m.
Thursday, April 9 / vs. Breck / 4 p.m.
Monday, April 13 / at St. Louis Park / 4 p.m.
Tuesday, April 14 / vs. Hopkins / 4 p.m.
Saturday, April 18 / at Eden Prairie Invitational / 9 a.m.
Tuesday, April 21 / at Armstrong / 4 p.m.
Thursday, April 23 / at Benilde-St. Margaret's / 4 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 / at Henry Sibley Invitational / 8:30 a.m.
Tuesday, April 28 / vs. Minnetonka / 4 p.m.
Wednesday, April 29 / at Mounds View / 4 p.m.
Saturday, May 2 / at Edina Invitational / 8 a.m.
Monday, May 4 / vs. Rochester Mayo / 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, May 5 / at Edina / 4 p.m.
Wednesday, May 6 / at Henry Sibley / 4 p.m.
Saturday, May 9 / at Eau Claire Memorial Invitational / 9 a.m.

Share/Save/Bookmark
a2a_linkname="Wayzata.com";a2a_linkurl="http://www.wayzata.com";