During its June 8, 2009, regular meeting, the school board of Wayzata Public Schools conducted the following business:

The board unanimously approved the consent agenda which included: minutes from the May 11, 2009, meeting; finance and business recommendations; human resource recommendations; and supplemental activities salaries for 2009-10.

The school board received a presentation from East Middle School students concerning the Little Buddy Book program, which pairs an interdisciplinary focus of geography and language arts classes with the opportunity for EMS students to serve as a mentor to a second-grade student from one of EMS’s feeder elementary schools.

The school board recognized 2008-09 retirees Emma de la Riva, a paraprofessional with the district’s Early Childhood Family Education program; and Irene Hatcher, a Culinary Express employee at East Middle School.

The school board recognized Elise Olsen, Haley Larsen and Sophie Leininger, seventh-grade students from West Middle School, who earned third place at the Minnesota History Day contest this year. The students are taught by Mandy Kraus.

The school board recognized Laura Isdahl, an eighth-grade student at West Middle School, for receiving a certificate of recognition for the Young Writers Program. She was one of only three students in Minnesota to be honored in the program. Isdahl is taught by Kassidy Rice.

The school board recognized East Middle School students Anna French, sixth grade, who earned first place in the state; and Monika Weimer, seventh grade, who earned third place in the state in the InvestWrite Essay Contest. The students are taught by Nicole Misuraco.

The school board recognized the East Middle School WordMasters Team for earning second place in the nation in the competition. The team includes Sweta Bhoopatiraju, Hannah Slovut, Soniya Coutinho, Haley McNiff, Ian Masica, Shivonne McCarthy, Kelly Flugaur-Leagitt, Kaylyn Billmeyer, Joram Zaragoza, Alicia Wong, Emily Briggs and Samantha Lee. The team is coached by Kathy Simson.

The school board recognized Greenwood Elementary School’s Superb Seven Destination ImagiNation team for earning third place at the state competition and attending the global competition in May. The Superb Seven are Sarah Isdahl, Chinmaey Kelkar, Karin Leland, Mark Moses, Lakshu Periakaruppan, Nathan Reding and Kaitlin Schwarz and the team managers are Toni Leland and Teresa Reding.

The school board recognized the Wayzata High School synchronized swim team for winning the 2009 state championship. Many students earned individual awards for their performance and members of the team include: Seniors, Monica Mathews, Erica Muncy and Hannah Strauss-Albee; juniors, Kristen Andersen, Stacy Caprio, Ashley Gilles, TiArika Hines and Allison Jahn; sophomores, Alexandra Alviani, Natalie Bodin, Larissa Borg, Kelly Caprio, Cayla Ebert, Audrey Elsner, Ali Eull, Alese Halvorson, Lindsay Hawkins, Rebecca Hunkins, Katie Kemmitt, Riley Mangan, Mackenzie Neal, Katelyn Osmek, Erika Weimer and Tara Williams; freshman, Jenny Caffoe, Amber Loken, MariBeth Paese, Kathleen Poppendeck, Laurel Streed and Brooke Ylitalo; eighth grade students, Mara Halvorson, Megan He, Paige Muncy, Kjirsten Ree, Ruth Schaefer and Samantha Snidarich.

The school board received and approved the 2009-11 East Middle School shared decisions agreement.

The school board received and approved several items from Finance and Business Services including the district’s monthly financial reports, the 2009-10 integration budget and a resolution regarding certification of district 284 population.

The school board received and approved several items from Human Resource Services including a resolution regarding termination and non-renewal of teaching contracts and the unaffiliated pay structure and handbooks for 2009-10.

The school board approved the school board meeting schedule for the 2009-10 school year which is now posted on the district’s Web site.