Wayzata is a premier suburb located 11 miles west of downtown Minneapolis. With a population of 4,500 people, Wayzata is a tight-knit community which is known for its vibrant downtown and picturesque setting on Lake Minnetonka. A popular destination for visitors, Wayzata’s downtown is home to a number of specialty shops, boutiques, professional services, and restaurants.

Wednesday, November 04, 2020

Iverson & Plechash Win Wayzata City Council Race, Incumbents Retain State, National Seats

 While much is still undecided at the national level of the 2020 election, we know how things shook out closer to home.

Cathy Iverson & Alex Plechash

Wayzata City Council

Wayzata Planning Commissioner Cathy Iverson and current Wayzata City Councilmember Alex Plechash came out on top of a four-candidate race Tuesday.

Iverson received 1,416 votes (31.38%) while Plechash was re-elected with 1,133 votes. (25.11%).

Another planning commissioner, Jeff Parkhill, gathered 993 votes (22.01%).

Meanwhile, current City Councilmember Dan Koch finished fourth with 925 votes (20.50%).

Current City Councilmember Johanna McCarthy won her bid for mayor. She ran unopposed.

Minnesota Senate District 33

Republican incumbent Sen. David Osmek retains his Minnesota Senate District 33 seat with win over Democratic challenger Gretchen Piper. Osmek had 53.98% of the vote. Piper had 45.96%.

Minnesota House District 33A

Republican incumbent Rep. Jerry Hertaus has defeated Democratic challenger Caitlin Cahill to retain Minnesota House District 33A. Hertaus had 58.06% of the vote while Cahill had 41.90%.

U.S. Congressional District 3

Incumbent Democratic Rep. Dean Phillips has defeated Republican challenger Kendall Qualls in the U.S. House District 3. Phillips had 55.58% of the vote while Qualls had 44.35%.

Hennepin County Commissioner District 6

Chris LaTondresse will replace Hennepin County Commissioner Jan Callison with win over Dario Anselmo. LaTondresse won with 52.55% of the vote.

No comments:

Post a Comment