Wayzata is a premier suburb located 11 miles west of downtown Minneapolis. With a population of 4,500 people, Wayzata is a tight-knit community which is known for its vibrant downtown and picturesque setting on Lake Minnetonka. A popular destination for visitors, Wayzata’s downtown is home to a number of specialty shops, boutiques, professional services, and restaurants.

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Wayzata City Council Member Johanna McCarthy Running For Mayor

Wayzata City Council Member Johanna McCarthy officially filed for candidacy for Mayor of Wayzata Tuesday.

Wayzata City Council Member Johanna McCarthy

McCarthy officially filed a affidavit of candidacy on Tuesday, the first day of the filing period.

This comes less than a week after Mayor Ken Willcox announced he will not seek re-election.

McCarthy was first elected to the Wayzata City Council in 2014 and was re-elected in 2018.

Meanwhile, fellow City Council Members Dan Koch and Alex Plechash filed to run again for their city council seats.

City Council Members Dan Koch and Alex Plechash

Filing for the mayor and the two council member seats began on July 28. That window closes on August 11.

Below is a list of city council election results since 2000.

Source: Minnesota Secretary of State/City of Wayzata

(* = winner)



*Barry Petit 1,194 (votes)
Sue Bangert 1,129

City Council (two seats)

*Robert (Bob) Ambrose 1,372
*Robyn Cook 1,190
Lynn Gruber 1,020


City Council (two seats)

*Andrew Humphrey 1,028
*Sue Bangert 1022
Barry Birkholz 763
Gayle Wilson 677



*Andrew Humphrey 1,989 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Ken Willcox 1,244
*John Berns 1,211
Jim Gooley 933


City Council (two seats)

*Sue Bangert 1,126
*Jack Amdal 758
Tom Tanner 695
Doug Hudson 539



*Ken Willcox 1,803 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Andrew Mullin 1,210
*Mary Bader 1,196
Tom Tanner 948


City Council (two seats)

*Tom Tanner 898
*Jack Amdal 861
Jim Wilson 749



*Ken Willcox 1,842 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Andrew Mullin (re elected) 1261
*Bridget Anderson 1079
Alex Plechash 1076


City Council (two seats)

*Steven Tyacke 865
*Johanna McCarthy 799
Alex Plechash 789
Jack Amdal 730



*Ken Willcox 2,226 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Dan Koch 1,718 (unopposed)
*Alex Plechash 1,715 (unopposed)


City Council (two seats)

*Johanna McCarthy ,1337
*Jeff Buchanan 1,028
Cathy Iverson 956
Barry Petit 821

No comments:

Post a Comment